Watersports

Beres Hammond embarks on the “Solid Love” tour

Beres Hammond – The beloved Jamaican godfather of Lover’s Rock is back on the road with his Solid Love Tour. One of the most anticipated concert tours of the year will stop in 13 US cities starting Friday, August 12.

Over his fifty-decade career, Beres has poured his smooth, smoky vocals—a subtle, powerful instrument reminiscent of an Otis Redding or a Teddy Pendergrass—on all types of riddim tunes, from funky reggae jams by the band to ’70s fusion Zap Pow to the lush instrumentation of his 1976 Soul Reggae album to the digital beat of his 1985 dancehall breakthrough “What One Dance Can Do.”

In 1990, her album A Love Affair for Donovan Germaine’s Penthouse label propelled her popularity to new heights. Tracks like “Tempted To Touch” and “Who Say” featuring Buju Banton are still as effective in dancehall today as they were in preview.

The ’90s proved to be Hammond’s decade, in which he paved the way for modern classics for a variety of producers, from wrestlers’ anthem “Putting Up Resistance” (Tappa) to lovers’ laments like “Come Back Home” (Star Trail) and “Double Trouble” (Steely & Clevie).

Beres Hammond Tour Dates

Friday, August 12 College Street Theater – New Haven, CT

Saturday August 13 NJPAC – Newark, NJ

Sunday, August 14 Ford Amphitheater at Coney Island Boardwalk – Brooklyn, NY

Wednesday, August 17 Payomet Performing Arts Center – Truro, MA

Friday, August 19 Chevalier Theater – Medford, MA (Boston)

Saturday, August 20 RFK Stadium Festival Grounds – Washington, DC

Sunday, August 21 Ardmore Music Hall – Ardmore, PA (Philadelphia)

Wednesday, August 24 Norva – Norfolk, Virginia

Friday, August 26 Rocky Mount Convention Center – Rocky Mount, NC

Saturday, August 27 Oasis Shriners Auditorium – Charlotte, North Carolina

Sunday August 28 Cobb Energy PAC – Atlanta, Georgia

Fri and Saturday September 2 and 3 Au-Rene Theater Broward Center – Ft Lauderdale, FL

Sunday, September 4 Hard Rock Live – Orlando, Florida