Eddie Dunbar finishes 18th in the opening stage of the Tour of the Alps

Competing in his first race since winning the Settimana Internazionale Coppi e Bartali in March, Eddie Dunbar showed excellent form on the opening stage of the Tour of the Alps on Monday. The Ineos Grenadiers pilot was part of a significantly reduced main peloton towards the end of the hilly stage towards Primiero / San Martino di Castrozza and played a leading role in the final. Frenchman Geoffrey Bouchard (Ag2r Citroën Team) was the only survivor of the breakaway at the start of the day and had a 42-second lead three kilometers from the end.

Dunbar started running behind, leading the pace in pursuit. He stayed ahead of the pack for about a kilometer and cut the lead to 28 seconds. The road leveled out and Bouchard only held on for five seconds, with Pello Bilbao (Bahrain Victorious) and Romain Bardet (Team DSM) leading the chase five seconds later.

Dunbar was part of his group, placing 18th, and looks set to be part of a determined team effort over the next four days.

Elsewhere in Italy, Archie Ryan (Jumbo-Visma Development Team) was in action in the Giro del Belvedere Under-23 race. Frenchman Romain Grégoire (Groupama-FDJ Conti) won a solid solo victory. Ryan finished 41st in what was his first race since recovering from Covid-19. Ronan O’Connor (Team Colpack Ballan) finished 95th.

Closer to home, Lindsay Watson sealed the overall victory for Kerry Group Rás Mumhan. The stage one winner finished safely in the main peloton of 73 riders at the end of stage four, a 96-kilometre stage starting and ending in Knocknagoshel, and maintained the same two-second advantage he had. had established on Darragh McCarter (Spellman Dublin Port) at the end of opening day. Monte Guerini (Foran Cycling Club) finished third overall, eight seconds behind.

Odhran Doogan (Velo Revolution) was fastest in the sprint to the line on Monday, beating Sunday’s stage winner Niall McLoughlin (Cycling Ireland Junior Team), Dean Harvey (Spellman Dublin Port) and the rest of the field.

McLoughlin’s second, first and second finishes on Saturday, Sunday and Monday allowed him to take the points standings. Harvey defeated Watson to win the King of the Mountains competition.

Elsewhere, Conor Verbruggen (Bray Wheelers) won the Gorey Three Day, overhauling Fergus Keogh (Moynalty Cycling Club) on the final stage. He and Loughlin Campion (Leinster Senior Team) had started the final day on time with Keogh, but Verbruggen cleared away with Ewan Warren (Unattached Munster) in a breakaway move that prevented a chase from those behind .

Warren took the stage in front of Verbruggen. The field was led by Eoghan Cooke (Spellman-Dublin Port) three seconds later, giving Verbruggen the edge he needed to claim the overall victory. Campion and Keogh finished second and third.

Gabriele Glodenyte (Unattached Leinster) finished more than two minutes ahead of Linda Kelly (Spin the Bean Power by Coffee) and Darcey Harkness (VC Glendale) in the women’s standings. Warren was the best of the A3 riders and the best climber, while Oisin Ferrity (Island Wheelers) was the best of the juniors. Kelly won the title of Queen of the Mountains.

Finally, the Irish riders were in action this weekend during the International Track Meeting Belgium. On Friday, Orla Walsh finished fifth overall out of 21 participants in the women’s sprint.

On Saturday, Emily Kay finished seventh in the women’s omnium, with Mia Griffin 13th and Alice Sharpe 15th. Griffin was the only Irish competitor in the women’s scratch and points races on Sunday, finishing fifth and eighth respectively.

Jack Murphy finished sixth overall in the Omnium on Sunday. He was also 13th

in the elimination race on Saturday.

Tour of the Alps

Stage 1, Cles to Primiero/San Martino di Castrozza: 1Geoffrey Bouchard

(Ag2r Citroën Team) 159 kilometers in 4 hours 12’22”, 2 P Bilbao

(Bahrain Victorious) 5″, 3 R Bardet (Team DSM), 4 V Albanian

(Eolo-Kometa Cycling Team), 5 F Gall (Ag2r Citroën Team) at the same time

Irish: 18 E Dunbar (Ineos Grenadiers) same time

Kerry Group Ras Mumhan. Step 4: Knocknagoshel – Knocknagoshel: 1 Odhran

Doogan (Velo Revolution) 96 kilometers in 1 hour 51’42”, 2 N McLoughlin

(Cycling Ireland Junior Team), 3 D Harvey (Spellman Dublin Port), 4 C

Murnane (UCD Cycling Club), Parish 5 J (TAAP Cervélo)

Final general classification: 1 Lindsay Watson (Velo Revolution) 9 hours

11′, 2D McCarter (Spellman Dublin Port) 2”, 3M Guerini (Foran Cycling

Club) 8″, 4 D Harvey (Spellman Dublin Port) 16″, 5 L Smith (Moynalty

Cycling Club) 17″, 6 C Hennebry (Team Dan Morrisey/Pactimo), 7 A Maguire

(Pinergy Orwell Wheelers), 8 C Halvey (Newcastlewest Cycling Club) all

the same time

Ranking by points: 1 Niall McLoughlin (Cycling Ireland Junior Team)

39 points, 2 C Murnane (UCD Cycling Club) 35, 3 O Doogan (Vélo

Revolution) 25

king of the mountains: 1 Dean Harvey (Spellman Dublin Port) 60.2 L

Watson (Velo Revolution) 52, 3L Smith (Moynalty Cycling Club) 43

Gorey Three Day, third leg, Gorey to Gorey: 1 Ewan Warren (Unattached

Munster) 2 hours 13’03”, 2 C Verbruggen (Bray Wheelers), 3 E Cooke

(Spellman-Dublin Port) 3″, 4 S Coll (Drogheda Wheelers), 5 L Campion

(Leinster Senior Team), 6 J Delaney (Leinster Development Team), 7 J

Howick (Bray Wheelers), 8 O Ferrity (Island Wheelers) at the same time

Final general classification: 1 Conor Verbruggen (Bray Wheelers) 6 hours

48’39”, 2 L Campion (Leinster Senior Team) 3”, 3 F Keogh (Moynalty

Cycling Club), 4 A Ryan (Leinster Senior Team) 26″, 5 M Mizgajski (Spin

the Bean Power by Coffee), 6 E Warren (Unattached Munster) 27″, 7 O

Ferry (Island Wheelers) 30″

8 A Klus (Stamullen RC)

Women: 1 Gabriele Glodenyte (Without Leinster attachment) 6 hours 49’46”, 2 L

Kelly (Spin the Bean Power by Coffee) 2’14”, 3D Harkness (VC Glendale),

4 E Grace Creighton (McConvey Cycles) 26’08”, 5 A O’Brien

(Torelli-Accure-Cayman Islands-Scimitar) 26’38”

A3 riders: 1 Ewan Warren (Without club Munster) 6 hours 49’06”, 2 A Grehan

(Lucan Cycling Road Club) 2’54”, 3 C Meegan (Drogheda Wheelers)

Junior: 1 Oisin Ferrity (Island Wheelers) 6 hours 49’09”, 2 D Doherty

(VC Glendale), 3 T McNally (Leinster Development Team) 31″

Ranking King of the Mountains: 1 Ewan Warren (Unattached Munster)

48 points, 2 L Campion (Leinster Senior Team) 25, 3 A Connell (Dungarvan

DC) 11

Ranking Queen of the Mountains: 1 Linda Kelly (Spinning the Bean

Power by Coffee) 51.2 D Hendriks (TC Racing) 25.3 G Glodenyte

(Leinster unattached) 18