Island tour

Pakistan Cricket Board and Team Release Schedule for Sri Lanka Tour

The Pakistan Cricket Board has announced the schedule as well as the squad for the upcoming two-match Test series in Sri Lanka. The team led by Babar Azam is expected to start the tour with a three-day warm-up contest followed by the test matches, which will be part of the World Test Championship (WTC).

This is the team’s first tour of the island nation in seven years. The 18-member team and support staff are expected to arrive on July 6. Sri Lanka are currently participating in an all-format series against Australia, which will culminate on July 3.

Galle International Stadium and R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo will host the tests. The first test is set to start on July 16 while the next contest is scheduled for July 24.

Initially, a three-game ODI series was also to be part of the tour. However, as the matches are not part of the ODI Super League, the Sri Lanka Cricket Board has asked their counterparts to remove it. The board intends to hold the Lanka Premier League (LPL) a week before its scheduled start due to financial reasons.

Full Program of Pakistani Tour in Sri Lanka

July 11-13 – Three-day warm-up match; Foals, Colombo

July 16-20 – First test; GICS, Galle

July 24-28 – Second test; RPICS, Colombo

Yasir Shah and uncapped SAlman Ali Receives Call for Pakistan Testing Team for Sri Lanka Testing

Following their 1-0 loss to Australia at home, the Men In Green slipped to fifth in the World Test Championship table. Babar Azam will lead an 18-man squad, including Yasir Shah, who returns to the national fold after almost a year. The 36-year-old was last seen during Pakistan’s West Indies tour in August 2021.

The leg-spinner had a prolific streak during the team’s last tour of Sri Lanka. He claimed 24 wickets in the three-game Test series and was named man of the series for his exploits.

Salman Ali Agha, 28, who has already toured Sri Lanka as part of the Pakistan A team, also marks his presence. The all-rounder has already received numerous call-ups as part of the national team for their tours of South Africa and Zimbabwe, but is yet to make his debut.

Pakistani squad for the Sri Lanka Test Series

Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain, wicketkeeper), Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali , Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood and Yasir Shah

Edited by Sudeshna Banerjee

Profile Picture